BWBL regulations and 18 teams were approved in Riga

Last weekend in new Riga Olympic sports centre was hold Baltic Women‘s Basketball League meeting-conference. In conference were certified 18 teams from 8 countries, which will participate in 12th BWBL championship. Also BWBL organizers, teams managers and coaches certified BWBL regulations and schedule. Meeting-conference guests also discussed about other BWBL business.
Next season in 12th BWBL championship will participate 18 teams from 8 countries: Belarus Junior team, Grodno „Olimpia“, Borisovo „Berezina“ (Belarus); Riga „RTU-Klondaika“, Riga „TTT-Riga“, Riga „Avantis-Turiba“ (Latvia); Vilnius „Lietuvos telekomas“, Kauno „LKKA-Kaunas“, Kauno „Laisve“, Lithuanian Junior team, Marijampole „Arvi“, Klaipeda „Lemminkainen“ (Lithuania); Tallinn „TLU“, Tallinn „Audentes“ (Estonia); Helsinki „Pantterit“ (Finland); Kiev „SC TIM“, Yuznoukrainsk „Olimp Naek“ (Ukraine); Navoi „NIKA“ (Uzbekistan).
After discussions BWBL organizers made a decision, that rules of championship will be similar last year. The one turn is that after regular season to semifinal round will participate not six, but seven teams. In 12th BWBL championship will be held 6 rounds and they same as usually will be held in last weekend of September – February months.
To semifinals round will participate seven teams, which will show best results after regular season. Vilnius „Lietuvos telekomas“ club, will also participate in semifinal round, but this team will not play in regular season, same as last year. In semifinal Pool A will compete „Lietuvos telekomas“, and 3rd, 4th, and 7th team, after regular season.
In semifinal Pool B will compete teams, which will take 1st, 2nd, 5th and 6th places after regular season. Two best teams of each semifinals pool will participate in BWBL Final 4 games, which will be held on 13-15 April, 2006. BWBL champion will be awarded by new Challenge Cup.
In meeting-conference also were decided, that teams, which will take first three places after regular season will be awarded by cash prizes. Also will be awarded best organization club, in which games will be the biggest number of spectators. BWBL organizers also decided that all round competitions, which will be in the same city, must be played in the same sports hall.
12th BWBL championship will start on September 30th, o new champions of the league will come on April, 2006.

Sponsors and partners