Dynamo and Inventa will play in the tournament in Palanga

Dynamo and Inventa will play in the tournament in Palanga

Photo: Tomas Gaubys

Third international Jūratė Daktaraitė and Angelė Rupšienė women‘s basketball tournament will be held on September 10th-13th, 2018 in Palanga (LTU). We would like to announce, that third-place winners of the EuroLeague Women Dynamo, Kursk (RUS) and Inventa, Kursk will play in the tournament.

Lithuanian vice-champions Kibirkštis, Vilnius and fourth-place winners Fortūna, Klaipėda, Belarusian champions Tsmoki-Minsk and third-place winners Olimpia, Grodno plans to join.

Deadline for registration is 1st of August, 2018. E-mail for registration – office@bwbl.lt

Organisers will give recommendations for accommodation, catering and recreational services.

The participation fee – 500 EUR for the rent of basketball fields and other organisational costs (referees, awards, promotion). Half of the participation fee will be repaid to the club after the tournament.

Detailed tournament information will be given after the registration deadline.

Tournament organisers – Baltic Women‘s Basketball League (BWBL) – are seeking to promote women‘s basketball, to help young players to develop their skills and also to honour the famous women‘s basketball players – Jūratė Daktaraitė and Angelė Rupšienė (nee Jankūnaitė). This tournament is great opportunity to test the team before the national championships.

A seaside resort town in western Lithuania, on the shore of the Baltic Sea, is waiting for you!

J. Daktaraitė became the first Lithuanian to win World Champion title in 1959. She won gold medals of the European Championships in 1960 and 1962. A. Rupšienė is two-time Olympic Champion (1976 and 1980), two-time World Champion (1971 and 1975) and three-time European Champion (1972,1976 and 1978).

First international J. Daktaraitė and A. Rupšienė women‘s basketball tournament was held in 2016 in Druskininkai. Eight teams from Belarus, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and Lithuania had participated in this tournament. Dynamo-1, Moscow (RUS) became the winners. One year later four teams from Belarus, Poland and Lithuania had competed in the second tournament in Druskininkai. Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR) took the first place.

Sponsors and partners