Four teams in the pre-season tournament in Druskininkai, Lithuania

Four teams in the pre-season tournament in Druskininkai, Lithuania

Tsmoki-Minsk defended the title last year in Palanga. Photo: Tomas Gaubys

Fourth International Jūratė Daktaraitė and Angelė Rupšienė women‘s basketball tournament will be held on September 20-22, 2019 in Druskininkai (LTU), the largest Lithuanian spa resort. Four teams from Kazakhstan, Latvia, Poland and Lithuania will fight for the trophy.

Participants: Kazakh champions Astana Tigers, Nur-Sultan, bronze medal winners of the Latvian Championship Liepaja/LSSS, third best team in Lithuania Kibirkštis, Vilnius and Politechnika, Gdansk (Poland).


20th September (Friday)

16:00  Liepaja/LSSS (LAT) vs Politechnika, Gdansk (POL)

18:00  Kibirkštis, Vilnius (LTU) vs Astana Tigers, Nur-Sultan (KAZ)

21st September (Saturday)

14:00  Astana Tigers, Nur-Sultan (KAZ) vs Liepaja/LSSS (LAT)

16:00  Politechnika, Gdansk (POL) vs Kibirkštis, Vilnius (LTU)

22nd September (Sunday)

10:30  Astana Tigers, Nur-Sultan (KAZ) vs Politechnika, Gdansk (POL)

12:30  Liepaja/LSSS (LAT) vs Kibirkštis, Vilnius (LTU)

14:15  Closing ceremony

Tournament organisers – Baltic Women‘s Basketball League (BWBL) – are seeking to promote women‘s basketball, to help young players to develop their skills and also to honour the famous women‘s basketball players – Jūratė Daktaraitė and Angelė Rupšienė (nee Jankūnaitė).

J. Daktaraitė became the first Lithuanian to win World Champion title in 1959. She won gold medals of the European Championships in 1960 and 1962. A. Rupšienė is two-time Olympic Champion (1976 and 1980), two-time World Champion (1971 and 1975) and three-time European Champion (1972,1976 and 1978).

First international J. Daktaraitė and A. Rupšienė women‘s basketball tournament was held in 2016 in Druskininkai. Eight teams from Belarus, Poland, Russia, Ukraine and Lithuania had participated in this tournament. Dynamo-1, Moscow (RUS) became the winners. One year later four teams from Belarus, Poland and Lithuania had competed in the second tournament in Druskininkai. Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR) took the first place. Tsmoki-Minsk defended the title last year in Palanga. Six teams had participated in the third tournament.

Sponsors and partners