Inventa, Kursk defends the title

Inventa, Kursk defends the title

© Tomas Gaubys

Inventa, Kursk defeated Belarusian champions Tsmoki-Minsk 65-54 (21-12, 18-12, 12-11, 14-19) on Sunday in Druskininkai (LTU) to defend the title. Russian team won the Baltic Women’s Basketball League Championship for the second time in its 24-year history.

Inventa (head coach Elen Shakirova, assistant coach Andrey Potapov) led 33-19 in the 16th minute of the final, 39-24 at halftime and increased their lead to 17 points (47-30) in the 27th minute. But Tsmoki-Minsk cut their deficit to 5 points (50-55) with 4 minutes to play. Evgeniia Frolkina scored seven points in a row in the last minutes to led Inventa to victory.

Inventa: Evgeniia Frolkina 12, Kristina Safonova 11 (6 rebounds), Ekaterina Polyashova 9, Anna Burovaya 8, Olga Frolkina 8; Tatiana Sema 12 rebounds.

Tsmoki-Minsk: Kai Afi James 15 (6 rebounds), Viktoryia Hasper 14, Mariia Cheremisina 10, Ala Murauskaya 9 (9 rebounds, 4 assists).

Olimpia, Grodno (BLR) took the bronze for the fourth time. They won the third place match against Lithuanian champions Sūduva, Marijampolė 86-78 (33-16, 13-26, 19-15, 21-21).

Olimpia led 46-42 at halftime, 65-57 after third quarter.

Olimpia: Nataliya Dashkevich 26 (4-of-6 3-pointers, 9 rebounds), Volha Kapylova 14 (8 rebounds), Nadzeya Nadzezhka 14 (8 rebounds), Aryna Masko 12, Sviatlana Kudrashova 9 (7 assists).

Sūduva: Lina Mikelevičienė 26 (6-of-10 3-pointers), Stephanie Gardner 13 (5 assists), Danielle McCray 10 (6 rebounds), Ligita Tamutytė 9, Justina Matuzonytė 6 (7 rebounds), Rita Milieškienė 5 (9 rebounds).

TOP-5 players of the Final Four

MVP – Evgeniia Frolkina (Inventa)

Anna Burovaya (Inventa)

Viktoryia Hasper (Tsmoki-Minsk)

Nataliya Dashkevich (Olimpia)

Lina Mikelevičienė (Sūduva)

Lithuanian teams were crowned BWBL Champions 18 times, Belarusian teams won the title three times, Russian teams have triumphed twice and Latvian team once.

Sponsors and partners