Pre-season tournament in Druskininkai

Pre-season tournament in Druskininkai

© Tomas Gaubys

Second international Jūratė Daktaraitė and Angelė Rupšienė women‘s basketball tournament will be held on 14-16 September, 2017 in Druskininkai (Lithuania). Four teams from Belarus, Poland and Lithuania will participate in this tournament, which is organised by BWBL.

Participants of the tournament: Belarusian champions Tsmoki-Minsk, bronze medallists Olimpia, Grodno, third team of the 2016/17 Polish Championship’s regular season Energa, Torun (Poland) and Lithuanian champions Sūduva, Marijampolė.

Jūratė Daktaraitė became the first Lithuanian to win World Champion title in 1959. She won gold medals of the European Championships in 1960 and 1962.

Angelė Rupšienė (nee Jankūnaitė) is two-time Olympic Champion (1976 and 1980), two-time World Champion (1971 and 1975) and three-time European Champion (1972, 1976 and 1978).

First team of Dynamo, Moscow (RUS) won this tournament last year.

Tournament schedule:

14 September, Thursday

16:00 Sūduva, Marijampolė (LTU) – Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR)

18:00 Olimpia, Grodno (BLR) – Energa, Torun (POL)

15 September, Friday

16:00 Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR) – Olimpia, Grodno (BLR)

18:00 Energa, Torun (POL) – Sūduva, Marijampolė (LTU)

16 September, Saturday

11:00 Energa, Torun (POL) – Tsmoki-Minsk (BLR)

13:00 Sūduva, Marijampolė (LTU) – Olimpia, Grodno (BLR)

14:45 Closing ceremony.

Sponsors and partners