Russian team became BWBL champions for the first time

Russian team became BWBL champions for the first time

Dynamo-Farm, Kursk defeated Estonian champions FCR Media-Rapla KK 70-42 (29-12, 11-9, 10-8, 20-13) on Sunday in Druskininkai (LTU) to become the first Russian team to win the Baltic Women’s Basketball League title. 


© Tomas Gaubys

Dynamo-Farm (head coach Elen Shakirova, assistant coach Andrey Potapov) stayed undefeated this season in BWBL Open Championship with 14 wins. 


Dynamo-Farm led 29-12 after first quater, 40-21 at halftime, 50-29 after third quarter.  


Dynamo-Farm: Ekaterina Polyashova 16 (13 rebounds), Tatiana Sema 14 (14 rebounds), Olga Frolkina 11, Olesia Safonova 7. 


FCR Media-Rapla KK: Pirgit Puu 12 (7 rebounds), Darya Lipinskaya 9, Laina Mesila-Kaarmann 8 (4 steals); Francisca Donders 8 assists. 


© Tomas Gaubys

Lithuanian champions Sūduva, Marijampolė took the bronze. Defending champions won the third place match against Energa, Torun (POL) 83-48 (17-15, 24-13, 20-10, 22-10). 


© Tomas Gaubys

Sūduva: Laura Svarytė 27 (19 rebounds, 4 assists), Kateryna Dobrikova 25 (6-of-9 3-pointers; 7 rebounds), Rita Milieškienė 11 (7 rebounds), Arina Bilocerkivska 5 (4 assists); Lina Pikčiutė 9 rebounds.


Energa: Klaudia Sosnowska 17 (8 rebounds, 5 assists), Agata Szczepanik 11, Emilia Tlumak 8 (6 rebounds), Julia Adamowicz 5.


TOP-5 players of the Final Four


MVP – Ekaterina Polyashova (Dynamo-Farm)

Olga Frolkina (Dynamo-Farm)

Pigit Puu (FCR Media-Rapla KK)

Laura Svarytė (Sūduva)

Klaudia Sosnowska (Energa).


© Tomas Gaubys

Lithuanian teams were crowned BWBL Champions 18 times, Belarusian teams won the title three times, Latvian and Russian teams have triumphed once.


Sponsors and partners